SonOfTheGods

Magus Of Java John Chang MoPai (from CourtYard)

Per Moderator message:

~~~ moderator message ~~~

Now it's official. Please try to practice some restraint here.

Anyone who wants to discuss John Chang and the rest of it,

feel free to go start a thread in another forum.

~~~ out ~~~

Original Thread started in:

CourtYard- Welcome from a new member:

http://thedaobums.com/topic/38707-the-magus-of-java/

Obviously members still wanted to discuss this topic, but with all respect for Moderator message, I decided to take it to another forum (being this one)

Edited by SonOfTheGods
  • Like 4

Aren't we assuming that John Chang has his abilities because he studied from a young age with masters? If you're not on that very track, you're not gonna become as good. It seems to me a moot point what John Chang could do, because we are so far from following in his footsteps.

I studied Aikido for 13 years, but it'd be silly to think I could reach a level like Morihei Ueshiba, the founder. He started young, with masters (his father literally set up a dojo of 1!), was a genius and mystic. By definition I'm 0 for 4. Still I had an excellent teacher who studied under O'Sensei's top student (Koichi Tohei) so I could get some small piece. But from a book?? ..no teacher or live feedback.. transmissions . connections..

When choosing a martial art I've always thought one should looker closer at the students then the master, because the upper level student are inevitably what you'll become. The teacher/master not so much, unless you make it your life.

Odds are Westerners studying Mo Pai are also starting with those deficits. Still, the first 2 steps can take you far (or not, in truth I've read'em but its not a path I'd follow), but so imo can other arts and you can have a live teacher which is invaluable.

I agree (and disagree) :)

• Like 1

Trunk made a discovery, and posted it here:

LDT method: hui yin <-> navel