Pelly

I seek answers and peace

Hello,

I remember when I was a young man at a book store and my friend told me about this book that had words filled with wisdom. I didn't give it much thought. At the time I was an atheist and any books dealing with religion was, in my opinion, rubbish.

It wasn't until my 20's that I started studying world religions to prove that they were in fact, hogwash, and I came across my old friend's book, Tao Te Ching. As I sat down to read it, I started to realize how brilliant it was. I've been studying it ever since along with eastern and western philosophy.

Now, at age 30, I've lost my path to peace and I sign up to this board hoping to find my answers. It's true, with my studies of western philosophy, Christianity, and other moral and ethical studies. I've gathered all this knowledge and i grow more confused by the day.

Please, help me seek the answers.

My first question: The tao te ching speaks of having great virtue, what is virtue and how do I become virtuous?

I know it seems like an elementary question but again, being born into christian family and studying philosophy has confused me on what the true path to virtue actually is. 

• Like 2

Hello and welcome.

You are accepted and we are glad to have you as a member. You will find many confused souls here and not a little wisdom. It will be up to you to sort what is useful from what is not.

Your question regarding the Tao De Ching and the meaning of virtue would be better asked in the Taoist Discussion section as this section of the forum is really only for introductions.

Please take the time to read the two posts pinned at the top of this Welcome page and take a look at the forum terms and rules. This covers all you need to know when getting started.